Enough already

Standard

Call me a curmudgeon, but I think it is totally ludicrous to make preschoolers “write” thank-you notes for presents received at their birthday parties. I’m all for teaching children to have nice manners (after all, Akiva makes it a point to say “damn it” every now and then…) but the practice of sending thank-you notes for birthday party gifts strikes me as just too much. At age three or four (and on?) I think it’s enough if the birthday child says “thank you” at the party and lets the guests join in playing with the gifts. It’s a special bonus if the child opens the card first.

But thank-you notes? For the last-minute trip to Plastix ‘R Us? Give me a break.

It’s basically another thing for the moms to do, so that all the other moms can feel guilty and inferior and ineffectual. (“Oh gee, Francesca’s mother got her thank-you notes out within a week; I’m such a bad mother.” “Golly, Dylan’s thank-you notes were hand-calligraphed with purple glitter on Japanese rice paper; I’m such a slacker.” “I’ll be a monkey’s uncle if I can get little three-year-old Juniper to ‘sign’ forty thank-you notes without a huge fight; I must be raising a narcissistic jackass.”)

For special gifts sent from grandparents or other relatives, I make sure that Akiva sees me writing a thank-you note, and I encourage him to make a picture to send along in the envelope. I let him see me appreciate the gifts I receive.

I really think that’s enough for now.

Of course, if this gets out, he’ll never be invited to another birthday party. And it’ll be all my fault.

One thought on “Enough already

Leave a Reply

